Main Event Final 8 underway today! Kenneth Clark wins the MSW Deep Stack Turbo

February 17, 2016-12:28 pm

This is it! After five days of Main Event action, today will decide who will be the Asian Poker Tour Cebu 2016 Main Event champion. Starting at 1:30pm, the Final 8 players out of the initial 144 entries will return to the felt for their final battle. What’s at stake? The first place cash prize of P1,783,000, the championship trophy, and the APT Championship Ring.

APT Cebu Main Event Final Eight

Coming in with the largest stack is Korea’s John Kim aka Hans with 637K chips. Right behind him is Denmark’s Michael Kim Falcon with 600K chips. Both of these players have quite a big lead over the other players, and are the only ones with stacks that are above average.

Entering in third position is the first of two ladies in the Final 8, Korea’s Ji Young Kim, with 319K chips. Next in line is Singapore’s Sheila Chung with 283K chips. Filipino pro Lester Edoc heads up the bottom half of the chip ladder with 281K chips followed by UK’s Alex Ward with 275K chips. Filipino player JC Sayo is in seventh position, and taking the eighth spot was Yohn Paredes from Peru.

We will be posting Live Updates on the Final 8 so be on the lookout for that.

MSW Deep Stack Turbo

MSW Deep Stack Turbo Champion, Kenneth Clark

The MSW Deep Stack Turbo saw 92 entries for this event with a P446,200 prize pool. The top ten players earned a payout with UK’s Kenneth Clark claiming the largest piece of P121,500 and the event trophy after defeating Japan’s Toshiyuki Onda at the heads up round.

Monster Stack (Day 1)

At the other side event last night, the Monster Stack turned up 78 entries with each contributing P27,500 to the prize pool which grew to P1,891,500. The eventual winner will receive a hefty cash prize of P514,700. Since this was scheduled to be a 2-day event, there were 18 players remaining after regulation play with Filipino John Costiniano bagging the largest stack of 402,500 chips. Second-in-command was another Filipino player, Daryl Lee, with 314,000 chips. Rounding out the top three was Singapore’s Dhanesh Chainani with 242,500 chips. Other notables also returning to the felt are Elan Zak, Menchu Ouanu, Lee Jong Yeol, Ian Brion, Yoichi Uesugi, and Lim Yo Hwan.

Side Events Today:

Alongside the Final 8 of the Main Event, Greed NLH kicks off at 1pm. This event has a buy-in of P13,200. At 3pm, the High Rollers (Day 1) will take place. This has a P108,000 buy-in and is scheduled to be a 2-day event. Then at 5pm, the NLH Freezeout (Day 1) will get underway. This has a P22,000 buy-in fee. This is also scheduled to run for two days.

This article is from


Recent Posts
Search By Tags